Judge Homier 

Arraignment Speech
Good Morning Ladies and Gentlemen, I am Judge Michelle Homier, one of your three elected State Court Judge. 
This morning you are here for Arraignment for a criminal misdemeanor. Arraignment is the date in which you are informed of the charge or charges pending against you and you have the opportunity to enter a guilty plea, a nolo plea, or plead not guilty. This is also a chance for you to be informed as well of the possible collateral consequences of entering a plea. You do not have to enter a guilty plea or a nolo plea. You can choose to plead not guilty. If you do this, then your case will be scheduled for a trial at a later date. You have a right to a jury trial or you can request a Judge trial. The State, in certain circumstances, might also request a jury trial, and under Georgia they have that right as well. It is your decision and your decision alone to decide which plea to enter. 
Before you decide what type of plea to enter, you need to understand a few things. First, you need to understand the possible sentences of your offense. Each offense here in court today is a misdemeanor. Generally, they care a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail, a $1,000 fine plus applicable surcharges, or both. Some misdemeanors are classified as a high and aggravated offense, which means it carries a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail, a $5,000 fine plus applicable surcharges, or both. Some offenses can carry only a fine and no jail time, and still other offenses carry 12 months in jail and a maximum fine amount of more than $1,000 but less than $5,000 plus applicable surcharges or both. 
Secondly, you need to understand each of your rights and responsibilities under the law. Specifically they are as follows: 

You have the right to remain silent.  That is, you are not required to make any statements now, or at trial, or at any other court proceeding that may tend to incriminate you in any way.
You have the right to a trial in your case.  That is, you have the right to require the State to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt before a judge or jury.  At that trial you would have the right to subpoena witnesses to testify on your behalf, cross examine any witnesses who might testify against you, present your own evidence in support of your case, challenge any evidence presented against you, and take the witness stand on your own behalf.
You have a presumption of innocence here today which cloaks and surrounds you throughout the trial process unless or until it is overcome by the State and your guilt is proven beyond a reasonable doubt.
You have the right to be represented by an attorney. There any many advantages of having an attorney represent you in your case and there are some dangers of proceeding without legal representation.  That being said, you do have the right to hire any attorney of your own choice, to represent yourself today and at trial, or to make application to see if you qualify for a court appointed attorney.

Thirdly, I need to explain some other important information about the offenses in court here today. There are many types of cases in Court today. Some of you are charged with traffic tickets, DUI, DV/FV cases, or other misdemeanors. 

Most traffic tickets have points associated with the charge and by entering a guilty plea, or being convicted at trial, those points will be reported onto your official driver’s history kept by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. The Department of Driver Services keeps track of the number of points you earn on your license and can suspend your license given the number of points you earn, your age, the number of prior convictions and other circumstances. Some traffic offense additionally will result in your license being outright suspended upon entering a plea, regardless of your age or the number of points. If your license has not been issued by Georgia, it would be up to your home state’s driver’s license issuing authority to determine what impact a conviction would have on your license.
There are also certain speeding offenses in the State of Georgia called superspeeders. This is driving 75 or more MPH on a two-lane roadway or 85 or more MPH on any other roadway. If you are convicted via plea or trial to a superspeeder citation, the Department of Driver Services will send you a bill for a $200 penalty. This is in addition to whatever fine or sentence the Court imposes. If the penalty is not paid by the deadline the Department gives you, your license will likely be suspended. 
Everyone person here has the opportunity to ask me to accept a Nolo plea on a traffic case or any other type of misdemeanor. It is up to me and me only to determine whether to accept it.
A Nolo plea has different consequences than a guilty plea for Traffic offenses. If it is accepted, generally no points will be assessed by the Department of Driver Services. There are exceptions, though. If you are under 18, they may not honor my acceptance of a Nolo plea. Additionally, for certain offenses they will not honor a Nolo plea either. Lastly, they will only honor one Nolo plea on a moving violation once every 5 years. If you have a non-moving traffic violation, you may have the opportunity for an additional nolo plea. 
Please keep in mind that it is my decision to determine whether I will accept a Nolo plea. It is then up to the Department of Driver Services to determine if upon a  nolo plea will be assessed points or not, depending on your age, previous convictions or other circumstances.
If you are charged with Possession of Marijuana or another drug offense, a conviction may result in you losing your ability to receive Federal Student Loans. A conviction will also result if you losing your ability to obtain a firearms or weapons license and will also result in the revocation of any such license currently held. 
If you are a charged with DUI, your license and/or privilege to drive in Georgia will be automatically suspended upon the entering of a guilty or nolo plea or from a conviction after trial. It will remain suspended unless or until the Georgia Department of Driver Services gives you some time of privilege to drive. The initial privilege might be limited with certain restrictions, and if so, you must strictly follow those restrictions in order to continue to retain the privilege to drive. 
Please keep in mind that I do not hand out licenses. Additionally, having a Georgia driver’s license is privilege, not a right. Department of Driver Services gives out licenses and thus they hold the rules under which you must comply in order to continue to keep your license. I have done my best to set out some basic consequences that affect your license, but ultimately whether you get to kept your license or the points that might be put upon it is up to the Department of Driver Services. It is separate government agency over which I have no control.
If you are charged with a DV/FV offense and you enter a guilty plea or are convicted after a trial, you are prohibited under Federal law from possessing or purchasing any firearm or any ammunition. This also means you will not be eligible to obtain a gun permit. It is not the particular crime that you plead to that triggers these consequences but the determination by the Federal government that the facts of the case are such that they are treating it as domestic violence/family violence situation.
A conviction for certain misdemeanors may result in being prohibited from visiting certain other countries. For instance, if you have DUI conviction, Canada may not let you visit their country. Additionally, if you are not a United States citizen as the time you enter a plea, you must understand that entering a plea could negatively impact the status of any citizenship application and immigration status, resulting in consequences up to and including deportation and denial of citizenship. 
Lastly, I have done my best to tell you some important collateral consequences of entering a plea on various types of misdemeanor offenses. I have tried to explain the consequences seen most often from misdemeanors. You need to understand, though, that neither I nor you may not always be aware of all the collateral consequences of you entering a plea. Once you enter the plea, though, you may have a limited time period in which to appeal or challenge your sentence or your plea. 
Now, let’s talk about procedure. In a few minutes, I am going to call the calendar. I will announce your name and I will ask you to announce one of four things – Guilty, Nolo, Not Guilty, or Pre-Trial. Pre-trial means that you are not sure at this moment of what you would like to do so you want a chance to speak with the prosecutor and figure out what you want to do. 
Please keep in mind that no matter what you announce EVERYONE will have an opportunity to speak with the prosecutor, regardless of your announcement. Your announcement is very, very important, though, as it helps the prosecutor determine how to proceed efficiently today.
When speaking with the prosecutor, please remember what you here on TV is true – whatever you say to the prosecutor can and likely will be used against you at a later date IF it becomes necessary. BUT these prosecutors are trained professionals and they will speak with you as openly and as honestly as they can. They are not here to trick you or mislead you. They are here to tell what you are charged with, which might be different than the Officer charged you with, offer you their recommendation should you decide to enter a plea and try and resolve the case without a trial, if that can be done. When you speak with the prosecutor, if you feel you have something to tell them about the case that they need to know or if you feel that they would make a different recommendation based on that knowledge, this is your chance to tell them. Keep in mind, though, that they could use this information later against you, should they desire. 
If for some reason you wish not to speak to the prosecutor, just let them know when they call your name and you can just then speak with me. You are not required to speak to the prosecutor about your case. Generally, though, it can be a good idea, but that is your choice. 
After speaking with the prosecutor, most of you will see me then. IF, though, you are here charged with certain traffic offenses which the Chief Judge of Cherokee County State Court, whom is Alan Jordan, has determined can be paid without seeing a Judge and you are able to pay the recommended fine today, you can be taken directly to pay the citation without seeing me. 
Everyone else will then see me. If you are pleading Not Guilty, I will speak with you about some additional information you will need and then you will be provided in writing the dates and times of your next court dates and you will sign a notice acknowledging receipt of that information. 
If you are pleading Guilty or asking for a Nolo plea, I will go over the very important rights that you give up by doing so, go over the circumstances of the case, and listen to the recommendation. Ultimately, it is up to me to accept your plea and sentence you accordingly. Most times I will accept a negotiated – meaning you and the prosecutor have agreed on the sentence or fine – but I am not obligated to do so. You can also enter a plea without agreeing to the sentence or fine the prosecutor recommends, leaving the sentence or fine in my discretion. All sentences and fines as well as whether to sentence someone under a conditional discharge or first offender provision, should there be one applicable in your case, are at the absolute discretion of the Court. You will also have the opportunity to tell me anything you want me to know prior to being sentenced. My policy is that IF you do not like what I give you, you can withdraw your plea and have a trial at a later date. 
Lastly, present in Court with us is one or more defense attorneys referred to as Attorney of the Day or AOD. They are provided by the County to provide legal advice and counsel today only free of charge to any of you should you either want or need to speak with them. They will give you their best advice based on their limited involvement with you and their limited knowledge of your case. Each of you can speak with one them, as long as you are not represented by an attorney. The AOD is the only one that can advise you how to proceed. Neither the prosecutor nor the Court can NOT tell you what option to take. If you have any question that the prosecutor tells you they cannot answer, the person that can answer these questions as well as any questions you may have is the AOD.
Now, I have just given you a lot of information to process. If you have any questions or concerns about the information I gave you, please let me know when you see me. You also should have a plea sheet in front of you. Attached to it is an explanation of the rights you have and the rights you give up by entering a plea. Please take an opportunity to read it when you can. Should you enter a plea, you may need to make sure you have read, filled out, and signed those documents.
[bookmark: _GoBack]Please keep in mind that before leaving today, everyone should have done one of the following – paid a fine, been put on probation and have seen a probation officer, received a notice for a court date in the future, or the prosecutor has agreed to dismiss your case today and told you that you are free to leave and you are absolutely confident that is what is happening. If you have not done one of those things before you leave today, you have not finished your obligations to the Court. If you do not finish your obligations to Court, I have to issue a warrant for your arrest, so please do not put me in that position. 
Now, I am going to call the calendar. Please announce Guilty, Nolo, Not Guilty, or Pre-Trial. If you have an attorney, let them announce for you. If your attorney is not here, please tell us their name when I call yours. 
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