Emergency Judicial Orders

A judicial emergency is defined as a state of emergency declared by the Governor, a public health emergency under O.C.G.A. 31-12-1.1, a local emergency under O.C.G.A. § 36-69-2, or another serious emergency when the emergency substantially endangers or infringers upon the normal functioning of the judicial system, including the ability of persons or litigants to have access to the court or meet time deadlines imposed by court order or rule, statute, or administrative rule or regulation. O.C.G.A. § 38-3-60(2).

Below is a list of circuits and courts that have filed judicial emergency orders. Each order contains specific details for each county. Click on the links to view an order for a particular circuit or county. Click on the links to view an order for a particular circuit or county. Please see our COVID-19 Preparedness site for more resources.

The April 15 deadline for all judges to file their Annual Disclosure Report required by Rule 3.15 of the Georgia Code of Judicial Conduct with the Supreme Court of Georgia has been tolled by the Chief Justice’s March 14, 2020 Order Declaring a Statewide Judicial Emergency. Rule 3.15 reports will be due no later than 32 days after the Statewide Judicial Emergency Order (which may be extended) expires. Judges may still file their reports before the deadline at https://www.gasupreme.us/rule315form.


The Order Declaring Statewide Judicial Emergency supersedes local judicial emergency orders filed before it. Many orders below have been superseded by the Statewide Order and are available for informational purposes. If an addendum or additional order is filed by an individual court after the Statewide Order, the updated date will be shown next to the hyperlink.

Judicial Circuit Impacted Counties Limited Jurisdiction Orders Notes/General Information
Alapaha Circuit Atkinson, Berrien, Clinch, Cook, Lanier Magistrate Court of Cook (Notice)
Probate Court of Cook
Alapaha- Notice sites for Berrien, Cook Probate
Alcovy Circuit Newton, Walton Public notices regarding judicial emergency can be found at https://www.alcovycircuit.com/
Appalachian Circuit Fannin, Gilmer, Pickens
Atlanta Circuit Fulton Magistrate Court of Fulton Amended Guidance (updated 3/17/20) Atlanta Circuit –Notice sites for Superior, State, Juvenile, Probate, Magistrate
Atlantic Circuit
Updated 3-30-20
Bryan, Evans, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Tattnall Municipal Court of Ludowici, Long Notice sites for Bryan, Liberty, Evans, Long, Tattnall. As of 3/31 Tattnall Courthouse has no public access until further notice.
Augusta Circuit Burke, Columbia, Richmond Notice sites for Columbia, Richmond
Bell-Forsyth Circuit
Updated 3/24/20
Forsyth Notice site for Forsyth
Blue Ridge Circuit
Updated 3-30-20
Cherokee Notice site for Cherokee
Chattahoochee Circuit
Updated 3/16/20
Chattahoochee, Harris, Marion, Muscogee, Talbot, Taylor Notice site for the Chattahoochee Circuit
Clayton Circuit
Updated 3/18/20
Clayton Notice site for Clayton (separated by court class in the left menu)
Cobb Circuit Cobb Magistrate Court of Cobb (Notice)
Probate Court of Cobb (Notice)
Notice site for Cobb
Coweta Circuit
Updated 3/18/20
Carroll, Coweta, Heard, Meriwether, Troup Municipal Court of Grantville, Coweta
Dougherty Circuit
Updated 3-30-20
Dougherty Municipal Court of Albany, Dougherty ***IMPORTANT***: Dougherty Courthouse is Closed to the Public. See the Dougherty Circuit Order for more details
Eastern Circuit
Updated 3/24/20
Chatham Juvenile Court of Chatham
Municipal Court of Bloomingdale, Chatham
Notice site for Chatham
Enotah Circuit Lumpkin, Towns, Union, White Notice sites for Lumpkin, Towns, Union, White
Flint Circuit
Updated 3/19/20
Henry Notice sites for Superior, Juvenile, State, Probate, Magistrate
Gwinnett Circuit
Updated 3/30/20
Gwinnett Municipal Court of Duluth, Gwinnett Notice site for Gwinnett, Gwinnett Clerks office is offering social distant services until 4/13, only one window is open for filing criminal complaints.
Houston Circuit Houston Notice site for Houston
Lookout Mountain Circuit Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Walker Notice site for the Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit
Macon Circuit Bibb, Crawford, Peach Macon-Bibb has limited access to Superior Court Clerks Office through at least 4/13.
Notice site for Peach
Mountain Circuit
Updated 3/24/20
Habersham, Rabun, Stephens Notice site for Habersham, Stephens
Northeastern Circuit
Updated 3-30-20
Dawson, Hall Notice site for the Northeastern Circuit
Northern Circuit Elbert, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Oglethorpe
Ocmulgee Circuit Baldwin, Greene, Hancock, Jasper, Jones, Morgan, Putnam , Wilkinson Notice sites for Baldwin, Jasper, Jones, Putnam.
Jones County Courthouse is closed to the public until further notice.
Patuala Circuit Clay, Early, Miller, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Terrell Municipal Court of Dawson, Terrell Notice site for the Pataula Circuit
Paulding Circuit Paulding
Piedmont Circuit Banks, Barrow, Jackson Magistrate Court of Barrow (Notice: 3/17/20)
Municipal Court of Jefferson, Jackson
Rockdale Circuit
Updated 3-30-20
Southern Circuit Brooks, Colquitt, Echols, Lowndes, Thomas
South Georgia Circuit Baker, Calhoun, Decatur, Grady, Mitchell The Calhoun County Courthouse is closed to the general public. See the Calhoun Judicial Emergency Order for more info.
Southwestern Circuit Lee, Macon, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Webster Magistrate Court, Lee
Municipal Court of Leslie, Sumter
Stone Mountain Circuit Dekalb
Tallapoosa Circuit Haralson, Polk
Tifton Circuit Irwin, Tift, Turner, Worth Magistrate Court of Irwin (Notice)
Municipal Court of Sylvester, Worth
Towaliga Circuit Butts, Lamar, Monroe Magistrate Court of Butts (Notice)
Magistrate Court of Lamar
Western Circuit Clarke, Oconee Oconee Juvenile (03/31) Oconee County Courthouse and other government facilities are closed until April 26. Notice site for Clarke County
Translate This Website »