Judicial Council

Judicial Council of Georgia

The Judicial Council is the policy-making body for Georgia’s judiciary, chaired by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia. The Judicial Council is composed of 27 members, representing every class of court and the State Bar of Georgia. The Council meets at least four times a year to consider new judgeships, budgetary and legislative matters, and judicial branch programs and policies.

Explainer Video


Next Council Meeting:

The Judicial Council of Georgia will meet Friday, February 23, 2018 from 10:00 am – 12:00 p.m. at The James H. “Sloppy” Floyd Building in Atlanta, GA. The agenda and materials may be accessed here.

The Judicial Council Meeting Calendar for 2018:

Date  Time  Place
Friday, February 23, 2018 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Atlanta, GA (Sloppy Floyd Building)
Friday, April 27, 2018 12 p.m. - 5 p.m. Athens, GA (UGA Conference Center)
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. Marietta, GA (Hilton Marietta) 
Friday, October 19, 2018 12 p.m. – 5 p.m. Macon, GA (Middle Georgia College)
Frday, December 7, 2018 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Atlanta, GA (Sloppy Floyd Building)

Regular Council Meeting Agendas:

As part of the judicial branch of the State of Georgia, the AOC, Judicial Council and its respective committees, commissions, and boards are not subject to Georgia’s open meetings and open records laws. Meeting information, agendas, and materials may be provided as a courtesy. Any compliance with open meetings or open records laws is strictly voluntary and does not require future compliance.